The Rees Scholarship Foundation awarded two $2,000 Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr. scholarships to Michael Whiting of Liberty, Pa., and Jerrold Witz of Minneapolis. They are awarded to students pursuing a career in the HVACR trade. Visit for more information.

In other news, John Garvelink, past president of the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors - National Association, won the 2004 Ted Rees Leadership Award from North American Technician Excellence (NATE). The award goes to professionals who demonstrate exemplary leadership in the pursuit of technician excellence.